Statsman: Devon Conway is New Zealand’s best

26 The number of innings New Zealand’s Devon Conway needed to reach his personal landmark of 1000 runs in T20I cricket. He achieved this in the opening Super 12 match against Australia in Sydney on 22 October 2022 during his unbeaten knock of 92. As of date, a total of 95 batters (Conway is the 91st) have aggregated 1000 T20I runs in their careers. Only two others have done it in fewer innings than Conway. This, however, is the best for a Kiwi batter. Kane Williamson needed 34 innings to reach 1000 runs, in Jan 2017. Conway’s batting average of 57.39 is by far the highest for any batter in the match they reached their 1000th run. Only two others — Babar Azam (54.26) and Dawid Malan (50.15) — averaged over 50 at the end of the match they reached their respective landmarks.

InnsMtsBatterForAchieved onRunsAve.100/50HS
2424Dawid MalanEngland20 Mar 2021100350.151/5103*
2424Sabawoon DaviziCzech Republic24 Jul 2022100047.923/5115*
2626Babar AzamPakistan4 Nov 2018103154.260/897*
2629Devon ConwayNew Zealand22 Oct 2022103357.390/799*
2729Virat KohliIndia2 Oct 2015101546.140/978*

Note: This is the third occasion in his T20I career, Conway has made a score in the 90s, which equals the record tally of 90s of team-mate Martin Guptill. However, Conway is still to be dismissed in all his three instances, while the latter has been dismissed twice in the 90s.

Batters with maximum scores in the 90s during a T20I career

Martin Guptill (NZ)

91*ZimbabweAuckland11 Feb 2012Won
97AustraliaDunedin Univ25 Feb 2021Won
93ScotlandDubai3 Nov 2021Won

Devon Conway (NZ)

99*AustraliaChristchurch HO22 Feb 2021Won
92*BangladeshHamilton28 Mar 2021Won
92*AustraliaSydney22 Oct 2022Won

Note: Seven other batters have twice made scores in the 90s during their T20I career.

3 The number of occasions where the defending champions lost their opening match of the next edition of the T20 World Cup. Australia, in 2022, dubiously achieved what twice T20WC champions West Indies did so in 2014 and 2021 as defending champions

How the defending champions have fared in their opening game of the next edition.

YearResult for the defending champion sideOpponentVenueDate
2009India won by 25 runsBangladeshNottingham6 June 2009+
2010Pakistan won by 21 runsBangladeshGros Islet1 May 2010
2012England won by 116 runsAfghanistanColombo RPS21 Sep 2012
2014West Indies lost by 7 wicketsIndiaMirpur23 Mar 2014
2016Sri Lanka won by 6 wicketsAfghanistanKolkata17 Mar 2016
2021West Indies lost by 6 wicketsEnglandDubai23 Oct 2021
2022Australia lost by 89 runsNew ZealandSydney22 Oct 2022

+ India won their next game too against Ireland in Nottingham on 10 Jun 2009 making it the only defending champion side to win their first two games.

8 The number of players who have achieved the distinction of aggregating 1000 runs and also taking 50 or more wickets during their T20I career. Hardik Pandya became the latest player to join this elite group when he crossed 1000 career runs in the T20 WC match against Pakistan in Melbourne on 23 Oct 2022. Pandya is incidentally the sixth Asian to do so. This list includes two Pakistanis, one from Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and now India. Pandya became the quickest to reach this milestone i.e in the fewest time (days) since his debut. He needed just 2462 days (6 years, 8 months, 27 days). The previous record holder Pakistani Shahid Afridi, who was the first to achieve it, in Dec 2013, needed 2662 days (7 years, 3 months, 13 days).

Players with over 1000 runs and 50 wickets in T20I career (listed chronologically)

PlayerForAchieved onT20I career
Shahid AfridiPak11 Dec 201399141617.929824.45
Shakib Al HasanBan16 Mar 2016+108224323.3612721.11
Dwayne BravoWI27 Aug 201691125522.027826.10
Tissara PereraSL31 May 201884120423.155133.67
Mohd HafeezPak1 Jul 2018119251426.466122.75
Mohd NabiAfg20 Aug 2018+104168621.078428.27
Kevin O’BrienIre24 Feb 2019110197321.225819.81
Hardik PandyaInd23 Oct 2022+77103624.676027.42

+ current players

14 The number of Man of the Match awards for Virat Kohli after the India-Pakistan T20WC match in Melbourne on 23 Oct 2022. This is now the maximum for any player in T20I history. Afghanistan’s Mohd Nabi (13) and India’s Rohit Sharma (12) follow Kohli with the most MoM awards in T20I cricket. Kohli extended his tally with 15 MoM awards in the match against Bangladesh in Adelaide on 2 November 2022.

Players with maximum Man of the match awards in T20I cricket

MoMPlayerMtsForCareer span
15Virat Kohli113India2010-
13Mohd Nabi104Afghanistan2010-
12Rohit Sharma146India2007-
11Shahid Afridi99Pakistan2006-2018
11Mohd Hafeez119Pakistan2006-2021
11David Warner99Australia2009-

36 The number of matches played by Rohit Sharma in the T20 World Cups. During India’s encounter against South Africa in Perth on 30 October 2022, Rohit became the most capped player in the T20WCs. Previously Sri Lankan Tillekeratne Dilshan held the record of playing in 35 matches from 2007 to 2016. As of now, Rohit Sharma has appeared in 37 matches.

37*Rohit SharmaIndia45356554*
35Tillkeratne DilshanSri Lanka576764
35*Shakib Al HasanBangladesh52227764*
34Shoaib MalikPakistan776446
34Shahid AfridiPakistan776644
34Dwyane BravoWest Indies2655565
34David WarnerAustralia2764474*

Note: Rohit Sharma and Shakib Al Hasan are the only two players to appear in all eight editions of the T20WC.

2 The number of players who have the distinction of aggregating 1000 or more runs in the T20 World Cup. Virat Kohli became the latest to achieve this landmark in the T20 World Cups during his knock of 12 against South Africa in Perth on 30 October 2022. In the next match against Bangladesh in Adelaide on 2 Nov 2022 he became the leading run-getter by bettering the previous record tally of runs by Sri Lankan Mahela Jayawardene.

Leading run getters in T20 World Cup

1065Virat KohliIndia252388.750/1389*2012-
1016Mahela JayawardeneSri Lanka313139.081/61002007-2014
965Chris GayleWest Indies333134.462/71172007-2021
921Rohit SharmaIndia373435.420/979*2007-

How the title ‘leading run-getter in T20WC’ changed hands

RunsBatterForDate achieved
117Chris GayleWest Indies11 Sep 2007
149Sanath JayasuriyaSri Lanka15 Sep 2007
158Misbah-ul-HaqPakistan18 Sep 2007
168Justin KempSouth Africa19 Sep 2007
178Kevin PietersenEngland19 Sep 2007
203Matthew HaydenAustralia20 Sep 2007
277Gautam GambhirIndia6 Jun 2009
382Tillakeratne DilshanSri Lanka19 Jun 2009
394Mahela JayawardeneSri Lanka30 Apr 2010
1065Virat KohliIndia2 Nov 2022

Note: Jayawardene was the first to reach the aggregate of 500 runs (on 7 May 2010) and 1000 runs (on 6 Apr 2014) in T20 World Cup.

All records are correct and updated until 4 November 2022

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *