Bangladesh record their maiden 10-wicket win in ODIs after thrashing Ireland in Sylhet

Tamim Iqbal’s Bangladesh beat Andrew Balbirnie’s Ireland by 10 wickets in the third and final ODI of the series on Thursday at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.

By Sabyasachi Chowdhury: Bangladesh, on Thursday, recorded their maiden 10-wicket win in ODIs after they beat Andrew Balbirnie’s Ireland at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium. The Tigers also won the three-match series 2-0 after also recording their second-biggest victory in ODIs by balls remaining (221).

After opting to bat first, Ireland were bowled out for 101 in 28.1 overs. Barring Lorcan Tucker and Curtis Campher, none of the Irish batters managed to get into double digits. The duo put on 42 runs for the fifth wicket, but after they were separated, Ireland’s innings capsized.

Even as Tucker scored 28 runs off 31 balls, Campher notched a 48-ball 36 with the help of four fours. But Hasan Mahmud and Ebadot Hossain accounted for their crucial scalps.

Hasan Mahmud was the pick of the Bangladesh bowlers after he finished with figures of 8.1-1-32-5. The fast bowler picked up the wickets of Stephen Doheny, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Curtis Campher and Graham Hume.

Taskin Ahmed and Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury weren’t much behind with three and two wickets to their names respectively.

Tamim, Litton make light work of run-chase

Bangladesh chased down the target with 36.5 overs to spare. Litton Das carried his good form and stayed unbeaten on 50 off 38 with the help of 10 fours.

His opening partner, Tamim Iqbal, scored 41 runs at a run-a-ball with five fours and two sixes. Ireland used four bowlers, Mark Adair, Graham Hume, Matthew Humphreys and Curtis Campher, but none of them managed to make a breakthrough. The Irish bowlers were also erratic as they bowled six wides.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *